2nd Annual Carbon Addiction Awards

Yes, there are a few smaller events still about – and there are always club races, of course – but the cycling year is essentially done and dusted. So rather than wait until December, I thought it’s time to reflect on the year that was. What were your highlights?


Cruellest defeat of the Year: Tony Martin getting caught just metres from the finishing line in Stage 6 of the Vuelta after an epic solo breakaway that kept the entire peloton at bay for 175km. Honorable mention goes to Sep Vanmarcke for getting pipped by Fabian Cancellara in the velodrome at Roubaix.



Crash of the Year (TIE): Mark Renshaw at the Tour of Turkey, lucky he’s still with us.

and Yoann Offredo slamming into a street sign at Paris-Roubaix.


Saddle Sore Award for the Biggest Pain in The Arse: Derryn Hinch, seemingly on a personal mission to create even more aggression towards cyclists on our roads.



Surprise of the Year: Chris Horner at the Vuelta, becoming the oldest Grand Tour stage winner ever – then winning the whole thing for good measure. Plenty of eyebrows were raised, but I’m with the wag on Facebook who posted: “Pee clean Chris, pee clean.”



Cyclist of the Year: Reid Anderton. Google him.



Show Off of the Year: Peter Sagan, a freak on two wheels. And often one.




Pro Cyclist of the Year: Carlone Buchanan, two rainbow jerseys in two months – only Marianne Vos has done it before.



Invisible Cyclist of the Year: Matt Goss. Was he even riding in 2013?



Worst hair-style of the Year (Three-way tie): Marcel Kittel, Koen de Koort (who copied Marcel Kittel) and Lachlan Morton’s mo. Shocking, all of you.



Faithful Dog of the Year: Richie Porte. One day soon he’ll have his own chance. But Mr Froome owes him plenty for this year’s TDF.

Chris Froome, right, believes his team-mate Richie Porte is a contender for a podium place at this y


Loser of the Year: Pat McQuaid. Had to go. Did go. Based on social media reaction to his defeat in Florence, few will miss him.



Moment of the Year 1: The Orica-GreenEDGE team bus getting stuck under the finish gantry on Stage 1 of the 100th Tour de France. You can’t script that.

Gazza and the bus


Moment of the year 2: Milan-SanRemo. Frozen cassettes. Hypothermia. Rain. Sleet. Snow. Epic.



Funniest Moment of the Year: John Degenkolb and Adam Hansen drinking beer in plastic cups on the way up Alpe d’Huez. Still makes me laugh thinking about it.

Hansen of Australia has a beer as he climbs the Alpe d'Huez mountain during the 172.5km eighteenth stage of the centenary Tour de France cycling race from Gap to l'Alpe d'Huez


Disappointment of the Year: Stuart O’Grady. Still gutted.


One thought on “2nd Annual Carbon Addiction Awards

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s